WalshA fantasy author gets trapped in his own novel and finds himself surrounded by characters and scenes he created with problems they want him to solve. The trouble is – they aren’t problems he’s written.

Ottawa-based author Krista Walsh has just released her book Evensong, the first of a fantasy trilogy. Krista’s been so kind to answer some questions about the book and her writing.

What is Evensong about?
Evensong is the first book in the Meratis Trilogy, a fun metafictional fantasy about the author Jeff Powell, who finds himself trapped inside his own novel. He’s summoned into the fictional world of Feldall’s Keep by a spell he didn’t write, one the House enchantress hasn’t figured out how to reverse. When the villain he’s been struggling to write reveals himself, unleashing waves of terror and chaos, Jeff must use more than his imagination to save the characters he created, and the woman he loves. Trapped within a world of his own creation, he must step outside the bounds of his narrative to help his characters defeat an evil no one anticipated, even if he must sacrifice his greatest gift. In the end, he has to ask: are novels really fiction, or windows into other worlds?

What inspired you to write the book?
It started as a flash fiction piece on Devin O’Branagan’s writer forum. I had so much fun writing the short story that it exploded into a full novel. A reflection on writing processes, inspiration, the joys and pitfalls of writing – I loved every step of writing this book.

Could you tell us a little about the gorgeous cover?
I was so lucky to work with the talented Kevin Lester for the cover. He brought to life exactly what I saw in my head: the mystery of the forest, the shadows and beasts, with a path down to the tunnel of light with so many questions of what lies on the other side. The tunnel is anything the readers want it to be. Are they also inside the book and looking back to the real world? In the real world looking into the book? Just like the novel itself, it’s all about crossing lines between fiction and reality.

What is your relationship to the speculative genres?
I love genre fiction. I used to think that I should stay away from writing fantasy, that while I loved to read it, I could never do it justice when writing. My brain disagreed and kept bringing me back to worlds of dragons and witches and magic. I love the freedom in writing genre fiction – how the only limitation is how far I can extend my imagination.

Could you tell a little about your writing and other stories?
I’ve been published in a few anthologies to date. I have a dark urban fantasy story called “The Serpent’s Kiss” in Colin F. Barnes’ Day of Demons anthology, and a historical fantasy novella in Devin O’Branagan’s anthology Witch Hunt: of the Blood. Coming up are the two sequels in the Meratis Trilogy, a literary fiction novel about the witch trials, and another fantasy series of 5 books. I’m keeping busy for sure!

EvensongHow can people find out more about you?
For first grab at Evensong sale price, other promotions, news and announcements, you can sign up for my newsletter. I’m also at Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Booklikes. Find out more over at my website: http://theravensquill.com. I can also be contacted at the local Second Cup coffee shop … but only if you come bearing a White Mocha.

***
Thank you, Krista. Best wishes on getting the trilogy out there!

I just saw on Krista’s blog that she has just sent the second book, Eventide, off to the proofreaders, so it’s just around the corner for eager readers.

