imageIn this A-Z blog I have written about several aspects of being a third culture or cross cultural child, or a child constantly being forced to move. Things that stick with the person into adulthood. My X blog musing is about xenophobia and other phobias.

Most people don’t know what a TCK is. But I have read somewhere that many are increasingly becoming aware of the uniqueness of adults with a third culture or cross cultural background. I think many international corporations would be interested in hiring someone with this background, for instance. TCKs are (usually) people who are used to adapt to new environments quickly and get along well with new people. Something, that in combination with (usually) good language skills, is important when dealing with international business and affairs. TCKs are also (usually) open to foreign cultures, since they have grown up adapting to other cultures.

I think the greatest weapon against fear is knowledge and that goes for many of the phobias we humans struggle with, monsters we battle. I suffer from a few myself and there are situations that will trigger my feeling of stress and panic. Usually when I don’t feel I am in control of a situation or I feel trapped.

But not xenophobia. At least I hope I don’t have it or will get it. Xenophobia is a fear of strangers and foreigners, mostly used about people with a strong antipathy or aversion.

I have been exposed for foreign cultures and religions since I was born. It’s not like I understand them all, or accept anything I see. Human rights are important to me. Animal rights too. But I know, accept and most important, I respect that people have different cultures dependent on geographical preferences and history. I also accept that cultures can change when they collide or meet and that this can create a new culture. Exciting, isn’t it?

Actually, and I think this is common with many other TCKs and CCKs, I am very interested in other cultures and want to learn more. Throughout the years, my friends have been a mixture of different cultures and nationalities. To me it’s more important what kind of person you are, not what kind of culture you embrace or represent. What life values do you have, what ethics lead you through life? I studied religion history at university a year in order to learn more about why people grow religious and about the different religions. I am very interested in history. My dream is to be able to travel more, learn more, meet more people, maybe work abroad. How boring not to want to learn about others, to meet others. I feel my life is richer by trying to be an open minded person.

I could write more about this, but I think I’ll stop here. You know what I mean. I also know what it feels like to be met with prejudices. Read for instance my post about the stones.

I struggled a little with what to write in my x-post. Hopefully I chose well. Thanks for reading.

If you’re interested in information about my A-Z blog, see here. My other posts are here.

The picture is taken by me at Gustav Vigeland museum in Oslo.

