imageA lonely witch longs for a change in her miserable love life, and decides to try out a powerful spell. Joan De La Haye has used her darkest pen in her new book Burning and brings you a grim tale of desire, magic and death.

Joan has been so kind to answer a few questions about her book and writing.

What is Burning about?
Burning is about a witch called Marcie Grove, who hasn’t had much luck in the love department and decides to summon an incubus with disastrous effects.

What inspired you to write the book?
I was attempting to write something romantic and erotic. People keep telling me that I should give it a try, so I did. Only it turned out to be anything but a romantic story. Probably the fact that an ex-boyfriend also asked me to name the lead character after him, probably didn’t help the romantic leanings of the tale.

Could you tell us a little about the cover of it?
It was designed by Dave Johnson, who read the story and then came up with a whole bunch of amazing images. But we decided that the image of the burning Lovers Tarot card represented the story perfectly. It’s an evocative image.

What is your relationship to the speculative genres?
I love spec fiction. I’m a complete horror, sci-fi, and fantasy junkie. I’m also a fan of writers published by smaller presses and I think they don’t get the recognition they deserve.

Could you tell a little about your writing and other books?
My stories are predominantly what my publisher, Adele Wearing, termed urban horror. I rather like that term. I set my stories in my native South Africa in the here and now and blend in a little ancient ritual or superstition. I have a lot of fun figuring out new ways to torment my characters. My job is to dream up ways of scaring my readers, and I enjoy it immensely.

I have two novels out. One is a demonic horror novel, Shadows, which is set in Johannesburg. My second novel, Requiem in E Sharp, is a serial killer thriller set in my home town – Pretoria. And then there’s my novella, Oasis, which was my attempt at a Zombie apocalypse.

Tell a little about yourself
I live in Pretoria, South Africa, with my black cat Midnight and my husky Tolstoy. I write horror and some very twisted thrillers. So I invariably wake up in the middle of the night, because I’ve figured out yet another freaky way to mess with my already screwed up characters. I’m interested in some seriously weird stuff. This is probably also one of the reasons I write horror. I’m deep, dark and seriously twisted and so is my writing.

***
imageThank you so much, Joan! I’d like to add that Joan writes awesome short stories as well, and her stories can be found in several anthologies, like the lovely anthologies Tales of the Nun & Dragon and AfroSF. See my review of the last book book in The Future Fire here.

If you want to find out more about Joan’s new book, Burning, see information on publisher Fox Spirit Books’ page.

Find out more about Joan on her website and on her Amazonpage. Or chat with her on Twitter.

