imageFabulous author D.D. Syrdal has a new book out today: Revenants Abroad. She’s been so kind to answer a few of my questions about the book and her writing.

What is Revenants Abroad about?
First I’d like to thank you for having me here and letting me talk about my book! Revenants Abroad centers on two male vampires, Andrej and Neko, and one human woman, Anne-Marie, who’s working as Andrej’s personal assistant, often referred to in literature as a “servitor” of a vampire, but she is free to make her own choices. Andrej’s working as a drug runner in New York, when his assistant Anne-Marie falls into the hands of the drug cartel. After rescuing her, they relocate to Prague, the city of Andrej’s birth, where they encounter a fanatical religious sect determined to exterminate all vampires. Things get complicated when Neko, an old friend of Andrej, arrives and becomes enamored of Anne-Marie. Everyone has secrets, some more damning than others.

What inspired you to write the book?
This was the first of many times I’ve been inspired by music. I was inspired by a song, which I’d rather not name, because I don’t want to color in too much for readers. I like people to fill in details for themselves, let their own imagination have some fun. But I’m often inspired by music, either with a scene, a character, or even an entire book.

Could you tell us a little about the cover of it?
The cover was entirely conceived by my fabulous cover artist, Jason Juta. Jason has done work for Wizards of the Coast, and Lucasfilm Enterprises, among others. I knew when I saw his work that his style was right for this, and he created a gorgeous cover. He sent some very preliminary roughs with some basic concept sketches, and I narrowed it down to the one I liked best. With just bare bones information on the characters and my inspirations for them, he did the rest. He chose to focus on the glorious architecture found in Prague, and I couldn’t be more pleased with it.

What is your relationship to the speculative genres?
I grew up on science fiction. Friday night when I was growing up consisted of cheese pizza and watching Star Trek (the original series) on tv. I’ve always had an interest in anything to do with vampires or witches, ghosts or the occult in general. I’ve always read science fiction and love urban fantasy. I like creepy, but not gore. I’ll take Twilight Zone over Nightmare on Elm Street. I’ve always been fascinated by “the other side”.

Could you tell a little about your writing and other stories?
My other writing sticks close to my loves, science fiction and the paranormal. I have several other stories I’m working on right now, including a military fantasy. I’ve got an idea for a series about witches, taking it through several generations and crossing oceans and continents. And of course a sequel to Revenants Abroad is percolating as well. I never know what’s going to inspire me. I have more ideas than time to write them all down.

Could you tell a little about yourself?
Like most writers I have a day job. I spent eight years in the US Navy which was an incredible experience that I relish. My love of science fiction also gave me a love for science and I’m an amateur astronomer, but I am never happier than when I’m immersed in a world I’m creating, which puts me at odds with getting things done in the real world sometimes.

I’ll be releasing the book through Smashwords, so it will be available from them, through Kobo, iTunes, B&N, Scribd, Aldiko, and others that Smashwords distributes to. I hope to have it available by October 31, just in time to start on the sequel for NaNoWriMo. With luck the next one won’t take as long to write.

***

Thank you, D.D., and best wishes on getting the book out there and starting on NaNoWriMo. The book was released on Smashwords today. Check it out here. It also has an own Facebook page here.

If you want to find out more about D.D., check out her blog here or find her on Twitter, where she’s @DDSyrdal

