imageI am so pleased to tell you that I have a new short story out today, in issue 21 of Gone Lawn Journal.

This is the second time one of my stories is featured in this lovely Boston-based magazine, aiming to be a literary webjournal focused on unusual, explorative, daring, thoughtful and emotive fiction, prose poetry and alternative narrative media.

My short story, ‘Death Wish,’ is special to me since it was the first story I wrote after almost a year of not writing. In addition to editing two fiction anthologies, the whole business of moving to another country and starting in a new job has been time consuming, and there hasn’t been much energy left to writing, sadly. So, I was very nervous about being able to write anything at all after so long time. Happily it did work, I did finish it, and it was a curious experience to discover that my language is developing even though I am not writing on a daily basis.

‘Death Wish’ isn’t a long story, it’s a mostly literary story even though the plot has some weird undercurrents. The theme is quite challenging – someone who has decided to die before turning thirty five – but it was actually a fun story to write because it’s written from a view point that is quite challenging. I hope you will like it.

Thank you so much to editor Owen Kaelin for publishing it.

Read the story online here.

