Reviews of The Stars Seem So Far Away

Some of the things said about my debut book. Selected reviews. Full list of reviews at the bottom. image

“This is a great curl-up-in-a-ball read that will transport you into your own imagination. It is a cracking read and, even though it is only slim, there is a big story at the heart. … The plot is deeply rooted in Nordic history and Scandinavian culture, which gives the story a European feel. This is very different to the mainstream books written from a UK perspective.”
14.09.2015 : Mr Ripley’s Enchanted Books

“This very literary collection feels like something I might have read for an English class and felt lucky to get away with it. Though not exactly “young adult” in feel, the young protagonists bring an innocence and optimism into some pretty dire spaces, and keep the stories moving in the direction of hope and connection.”
25.08.2015 : Finding Wonderland

“Helgadóttir’s writing is evocative without being flowery and renders her world in a beautiful clarity. Her use of language is wonderful, … The Stars Seem So Far Away is a remarkable debut. Helgadøttir proves she is a very talented writer; telling a tale of humanity in extremis, but ending it on a note of restoration and hope. If you enjoy post-apocalyptic science fiction then you should definitely check out The Stars Seem So Far Away.
29.06.2015 : A Fantastical Librarian

“This is the first book that I have read by Margret Helgadottir and my goodness, what a fabulous writer. The emotion on every page is so palpable, so much so that on a few occasions it made me cry. … Helgadóttir’s writing has this beautiful, haunting quality about it. Certain lines and passages really stand out, and you are reminded of them on a daily basis. … An Incredible story told with grace and beauty.”
24.06.2015 : Sleepless Musings of a Well Groomed Moustached Man

“The writing is sparse and elegant, like the lands it inhabits, stripped back to the bare rock but not lacking in beauty for all that, and the characters, … They are sparks of hope in a dying world, and the conclusion to their story – to all their stories – is an indication towards a brighter future. Which is almost a shame – I’d love to see more stories or even a full-length novel set in this intriguing future world. An excellent introduction to a startling new voice in SF. Well worth reading.”
19.05.2015 : Joanne Hall

“Its completion left me feeling weepy and I have been trying to figure out why that is. … Ms. Helgadóttir’s future is entirely believable. Tying her short stories together in the manner that she has was well done. Her prose is lovely and her portrayal of the Nordic is well done. Definitely recommended.”
27.04.2015 : humanitysdarkerside

“I loved every minute of it. … It is one hell of a debut, fellow readers. Poignant, elegiac, but ultimately hopeful, Stars is a story not so much about speculative futures and science-fiction adventure; instead, it’s the story of human survival and humanity grappling with loneliness, death, and hope. … I loved this book very much, and highly recommend it. In Book Smugglerish: an entranced 8 northern islands out of 10.”
17.04.2015 : The Book Smugglers (Thea James)

“For a book with such a grim backdrop and horrific chaos, it’s surprisingly positive and hopeful. … Read it yourself and see if it’s not one of the more worthy offerings at that length.”
03.04.2015 : Abyss & Apex Magazine

“The narrative compels through spare suggestion — short story on the boundary with poetry — and implies a world of vast sweep in its pauses. … The stripped-down language and huge landscapes link this short novel to the world of epic poetry and saga. … The landscape is implied more than described, but as I read, I felt the vastness of its sky and its horizons. … All art is interactive; the bare-bones austerity of epic calls forth a powerful response in the right reader.”
25.03.2015 : E.P. Beaumont

Reviews – full list 

04.11.2015 : Our Book Reviews Online (Mary Mayfield)

14.09.2015 : Mr Ripley’s Enchanted Books

25.08.2015 : Finding Wonderland

31.07.2015 : Strange Horizons (Octavia Cade)

29.06.2015 : A Fantastical Librarian

24.06.2015 : Sleepless Musings of a Well Groomed Moustached Man

04.06.2015 : Speculiction

21.05.2015 : The British Fantasy Society (Alex Bardy)

19.05.2015 : Joanne Hall

27.04.2015 : humanitysdarkerside

17.04.2015 : The Book Smugglers (Thea James)

03.04.2015 : Abyss & Apex Magazine

25.03.2015 : E.P. Beaumont

23.03.2015 : The Future Fire (Cait Coker)

Reviews on Goodreads here.

Reviews on Amazon here (UK) and here (US).

Reviews on Booklikes here

Reviews on the book’s cover

Margret Helgadottir’s kinetic prose immerses the reader in a future woven from the threads of Nordic history, studded with jewels pillaged from our mythic past.
Damien Walter, Columnist for The Guardian

Finely observed, beautifully written; Margret Helgadottir’s stories have the chill brightness of new myth. She is a writer to watch.
Adam Roberts, Professor in Literature at Royal Holloway and
award-winning author of Salt, Jack Glass and Bête

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s